Early Red Eagle magazines

Includes .22 Standard, Mark I, Mark II, Mark III and all Centerfire Semi-Auto Pistols.
contender

Early Red Eagle magazines

Post by contender »

Over on the Ruger Forum,, a guy (EVILDOCTOR) posted some questions about having a couple of magazines that would not fit into a Std Auto, or later guns.
His questions centered around the idea they were prototypes or maybe counterfeit mags.

He offered to send one to Dan to get his opinion. And he also offered to send me one. He did.

I got it, studied it, felt by appearances,, it was a legit factory mag. Next, I took out a early Red Eagle Std, (serial 29xx) and his mag slipped right in, no problems. Next, I took out a 5 digit Red Eagle (17xxx) and it would NOT fit. I then took his mag, laid it aside, and tried to swap my mags around. My 4 digit mag stopped from seating in my 5 digit gun, doing the same thing that he had experienced. Yet, my 5 digit gun mag slipped into my 4 digit gun.

Hmmm!

I started studying the mags under a magnifier, and using calipers to measure various dimensions.

I could not find any differences in specs. I even disassembled each magazine, (all 3) to measure things. The only differences I found in measurements was the length of the heel of the follower. Yet,, it was so small, and different on all 3 that it wasn't considered significant. And in all my studying,, the only difference I could see was the mag he sent me, the follower button sat "flat" while my other (2) Red Eagle mags had the top of the button canted outwards a little.

Studying Chad's book on the Semi's, as well as checking Don's book, I was only able to see that there were some internal changes to the very early guns in regards to the bolt & firing pin. (We know about those.) It made me wonder if there is some minor differences in the internal dimensions, somewhere in the frames.