Joining-In from Wyo - Finally

PhantoM14

Joining-In from Wyo - Finally

Post by PhantoM14 »

Glad to be here. I've been longing for a thoughtful source to feed my interest in Ruger firearms.

I've been a firearms hobbyist since the Eisenhower Administration - through Boy Scouts, as a Cadet, in the Air Force, and through to today.

I'm an unreconstructed collector of guns that I take a fancy to, but which I cannot otherwise rationalize, justify, or categorize.

My Rugers are all long guns (see my signature), and among my favorites. I also have several Winchesters (1885, 1886, 94, and M70). Yes, I have both a M70 and a 77/Hawkeye and I like them both (hope that's okay). Of course, I have other guns including the requisite ARs, but also two sweet Semi-Auto M14 types (a type similar to that on which I originally trained as a cadet).

I have lots of questions about my Rugers that I hope to learn more about here, as time passes. My Ruger library includes Clayton on the No. 1 and Wilson on Ruger - though not much else (I don't think there is much else).

I'm not a collector in the sense that I care whether it was 1973 or 74 when the lever-pivot head had a screw slot cut into it. Rather, I like to enjoy a variety of shooting experiences: on the Range, on the Prairie after Pronghorns, or in the mountains on an Elk hunt. And I like the connection my Rugers (especially the No. 1) give me to history.

Then there is Marlin. It's always been a Ford vs. Chevy thing for me and in this domain my choice was Winchester. Maybe that will change with the new Sheriff in town - it very well could.

That's all for now. As I said, Glad to be here.
K1-RSI (.308Win); 1-A (7x57: 200th Anniversary of American Independence); 1-B (7mmRM); 77Hawkeye FTW (7mmRM); 77/22 (22LR)
67stingray

Re: Joining-In from Wyo - Finally

Post by 67stingray »