Setting Up My Ruger Mark IVs For Steel Challenge

Includes .22 Standard, Mark I, Mark II, Mark III and all Centerfire Semi-Auto Pistols.
AzShooter

Setting Up My Ruger Mark IVs For Steel Challenge

Post by AzShooter »

I've been shooting Steel Challenge for over 30 years with my Ruger Mark III and a C-More Railway red dot sight with 12 MOA dot. I have the same setup on my Mark IVs, one being a Volquarten upgraded model called the Black Mamba.

I just decided to try Rim Fire Pistol Iron to broaden out my shooting abilities.

I took off my Railways and added fiber optic sights. The OEM from Volquartsen and another from Dawson Precision for the Mark IV 22/45 Lite with 5.5 inch Target barrel that I got from the Volquartsen Bargain Bin where I also bought a 10 inch barrel.

I've been practicing for the past two weeks with these setups and I'm very pleased. I actually enjoy shooting the fiber optic sights and am doing surprisingly better. I focus on the front sight and can call my hits faster that with the dot. Most people find the dots faster. I have two weeks before my first match this way and am hoping to beat my fastest time with optics. I have two matches in the next three weeks so that I can see if I enjoy it more or want to go back to Rim Fire Pistol Open.
RocDoc

Re: Setting Up My Ruger Mark IVs For Steel Challenge

Post by RocDoc »

What do you think about the Mamba? Volquartsen ocassionally has those uppers on clearance and I have thought about trying one.
AzShooter

Post by AzShooter »

It's a great idea. There are now two different uppers available from Volquartsen. There is the one with the upper and lower rail and they just released one drilled and tapped for a number of red dot sight that isn't set up for iron sights at all.